
On January 1, 2018, a seven-year phase-in of 
the California Vessel Operator Card (CVOC) 

requirements will begin. See the reverse for the 
phase-in schedule. By 2017, the California State Parks 
Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) will begin 
issuing the CVOC to boaters operating motorized 
recreational vessels on California waterways who 
can show proof of passing an approved vessel 
operator examination.

The new law (SB941) promotes boating safety  
education for California boat operators. Once issued, 
the CVOC remains valid for a boat operator’s lifetime.

Where can boaters take exams?
Boaters will be able to choose to take approved boat-
ing safety courses or challenge exams online, in the 
classroom or through home study. To learn more and 
for a list of exemptions visit www.dbw.parks.ca.gov/
CVOC or scan the QR code below.

Coming Soon:
Mandatory Boater 
Safety Education 
California Vessel Operator Card (CVOC)



How will the CVOC be phased in?
The California Harbors and Navigation Code 
Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in 
schedule to have a CVOC based on operator age 
by the dates shown.

Can I take a boating safety course now?
If you have already taken or want to take a boater 
education course, DBW will determine if the course 
meets its CVOC requirements before the first phase-
in date of January 1, 2018.

January 1, 2018 Persons 20 years of age or younger

January 1, 2019 Persons 25 years of age or younger

January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger

January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger

January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger

January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger

January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger

January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age

Some safety courses can be found online at:
	 www.dbw.parks.ca.gov

California Vessel Operator Card inquiries
	 1-888-326-2822
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